I’m Not the Undead and I Will Not Quit: A Sort of Review of Surgikill’s Sanguinary Revelations


To say that death metal supergroup Surgikill’s debut album has cast a spell on me would be an understatement. When I first heard the band back in April, via their 2-song promo cassette from last year, I was instantly hooked, but since receiving the album a few weeks ago, I have only stopped listening when I force myself to do so, alternating between Cheap Trick’s stellar In Color and the local public radio station’s classical music programming in an attempt to prevent myself from getting lost forever in the corridors of the grim, blood-soaked mortuary that is Sanguinary Revelations.

Released March 18, 2016 on F.D.A. Rekotz

Released March 18, 2016 on F.D.A. Rekotz

Surgikill is the result of an unholy collaboration birthed from the depths of depravity which are the minds of death/grind legend Stevo do Caixao (vocals) and Razorback Records owners Billy (vocals, guitars) and Vanessa Nocera (vocals/lyrics), and features William Sievers (vocals), Ash Thomas (guitars/drums), and Zdenka Prado (bass).

Did you happen to notice the unusually large number of vocal credits there? Let’s talk about that for a moment. The vocals on this beast are unlike anything I’ve ever heard. They range from merely unsettling to utterly terrifying, and the inclusion of four different vocalists takes what might normally be a “good cop/bad cop” kind of vibe and forces it through a rusty meat grinder until we’re left with more of a “horror cop/psycho cop/murder cop/demon cop” type of situation. There are so many layers of vocals going on at times that it begins to play tricks with your mind. It is truly the closest I hope I ever come to complete madness, and I can’t stop/don’t want to stop listening.

The music is nothing to sneeze blood at, either. Thomas, Prado, and Mr. Nocera’s deft mix of death metal, death/doom, and death/grind is a perfect soundtrack to these proclamations of bloodshed – some seriously wicked sounds that work overtime to contain the insanity that is the vocal attack.

Standout tracks include the rip-roaring opener, “Sanguiniac”, in which the murderous, blood-thirsty she-demon from the album’s cover rains horror across the land…

…the slow, terrifying crawl of “Murderous Thirst”, wherein you are reassured by your killer that what is about to happen to you is purely for pleasure, and not for any kind of mystical or spiritual ends (what a relief!)…

…and album closer “Planet of the Vampires”, which Stevo first wrote in 1991, when he was still the vocalist/bassist of Impetigo. I would be willing to testify that “Planet of the Vampires” is the straight-up creepiest song I’ve ever heard, and I am a man who likes some creepy shit…

I don’t usually bother with album of the year-type lists, but whether or not I do so this year, I can’t imagine anything topping Sanguinary Revelations; it really is a revelation.

Thanks for reading, and stay heavy, heavy people.

Tell Me What You Think:

