Why All This Commotion Now?: A Really Short Thing That’s Kind of About Voivod

As regular readers may know, I am a HUGE fan of Voivod. I’ve written about them quite a bit, and I’ve already been planning plenty more, but another piece has been added today: I just bought tickets to see Voivod live on February 29th! This’ll be my first time, and I don’t think I could be more excited! I’d planned to see them when they  were touring with Kreator a few years back, but I couldn’t make that show, and then I really wanted to see them with Napalm Death last year, but it’s hard to plan for a 4-hour one-way trip to Chicago in the winter, and then tickets sold out, but now none of that shit matters, because I’m going to see the mighty motherfucking Voivod – headlining, no less! – in just over two weeks! I don’t care that I have to work all day and then drive straight down to Louisville after work, and I don’t care that I have to drive straight back home and work the next day on not enough sleep, because I am finally going to experience the majesty that is Voivod live!

Photo by Shawn Evans. Used without permission. Please don't sue me, Shawn! For more amazing pics of this show, check out http://skullsnbones.com/voivod-live-photos-from-atlanta-by-shawn-evans/

Photo by Shawn Evans. Used without permission. Please don’t sue me, Shawn! For more amazing pics of this show, check out http://skullsnbones.com/voivod-live-photos-from-atlanta-by-shawn-evans/

I’m too excited to think properly right now, so I’ll just share a few super sweet tunes from Canada’s greatest metal export.

“Post Society” is the single from the band’s latest release, an EP which is also called Post Society. It’s very fucking good:

“We Are Connected” is Voivod’s side of a split 7″ they released with At the Gates last year. It, too, kicks mucho ass-o:

This is the title track to their third album, 1987’s Killing Technology. They’ve been playing this one live on this current tour for the first time since 1994(!):

And here’s Dave Grohl talking about Voivod, because Dave Grohl talks about everything:

I gotta start dinner prep now, and crank some Voivod. If you’re interested, check out my previous posts on Voivod…

here

here

here

and here.

Thanks for reading! Stay heavy!

Tell Me What You Think:

