When We Go Drinking, We Shout About You: Another Brief Update

The new job is still eating away at my time, and at times, my soul. Blergh. I’m off today and tomorrow, but I’m leaving town with Mrs. Stay Heavy in a couple of hours for a wedding, and I won’t be back until tomorrow evening, and then I have to work at 6 AM Monday, so this is it as far as time goes for the next few days. My last update worked out well enough, so I figured I’d do another one like that, just in the interest of keeping up appearances. Without further ado, some songs I recall hearing since the last post (in no particular order):

I ignored the hype on Atlanta, Georgia’s Royal Thunder up until Wednesday morning, when I inexplicably woke up after 3 hours of sleep and decided on a whim to give them a listen. Suffice to say that I’ve been a damn fool, and that this song has been lodged firmly in my gray matter ever since. It evokes so many different influences and genres, yet manages to sound completely fresh and original. I’m convinced. Don’t miss out on this one.

I’ve still only heard one album from Irish thrashers Gama Bomb (2009’s Tales From the Grave In Space), but I absolutely fucking adore it. You can download it for free (and legally) here, so you have no excuses to not check it out.

San Pedro, California’s Minutemen were not a metal band, but they were sometimes heavy, and they fucking ruled, and you should listen to them. They’re perhaps best known for their song “Corona”, which was used as the opening theme from Jackass. Please don’t affiliate the band with that stupid show…they stopped being a band long before the show became a thing. Posted above is their 1981 debut album, The Punch Line, in its entirety. It’s 18 songs in 15 minutes, and it just might change your life.

Suicidal Tendencies at their best were so bloody phenomenal. The line “you wouldn’t know what crazy was if Charles Manson was eatin Froot Loops on your front porch” alone is worth the price of admission on this song (which, by the way, is $0.00 if you listen in the link above), but the rest of the song kicks major ass as well. In fact, I’ll go ahead and declare the entirety of the album (1990’s Lights…Camera…Revolution) to be utterly untouchable.

NYHC giants Sick of It All are fucking great, and arguments can be made for nearly all their albums, but for my money, 1994’s Scratch the Surface is their masterpiece. It’s the primary catalyst that got me into hardcore in the late 90’s. If you get a chance to see them live, fucking do it.

Iron Maiden’s massively underrated 1990 album No Prayer for the Dying gets positively shat upon by a large majority of fans, and by most of the band as well, but I think it’s a solid album. It’s obviously not as good as its precursor, 1988’s Seventh Son of a Seventh Son, but in my opinion it’s miles ahead of its follow-up, 1992’s Fear of the Dark, in nearly every way. Fear of the Dark has three great songs (the title track, “Afraid to Shoot Strangers”, and “Be Quick Or Be Dead”) and better production, but otherwise, it’s just not as good as No Prayer for the Dying. The point? “From Here to Eternity” is one of the less-than-great songs from Fear of the Dark, but it’s still better than a vast number of other songs in existence, because it’s Iron Fucking Maiden.

That’s all the time I got for today, kiddies. Stay heavy, always.

Tell Me What You Think:

