Bear Witness to the Genesis of the Violence

In the interest of keeping things current-ish, I decided to pop in and mention that I’ve been enjoying the fuck out of the new Exodus album, Blood In Blood Out.  I can’t imagine that anyone reading isn’t up to date on the ongoing dramatic saga of this Bay Area Thrash Metal powerhouse, or maybe you are not, but either way, I’ma skip that for now and just say the following:

Blood In Blood Out will almost certainly be my favorite album released this year.

– “Salt the Wound”, the song featuring a guest guitar solo from Exodus co-founder Kirk Hammett, is easily the weakest track on the album, and I’ve been considering making a copy for the car wherein I delete the offending track.

– Knowing what a formidable voice/presence previous vocalist Rob Dukes possesses, and knowing that the album was written and recorded while he was in the band, I rrrrrreeeeeeaaaaaalllllly wanna hear it with Dukes.  Because while I grew up with Zetro-era Exodus, and while I generally enjoy Zetro’s voice, I can’t help but think these songs would sound even more punishing with Dukes’ rabid barking, rather than Zetro’s Cobra-Commander-in-the-throes-of-rage delivery.

– The title track and “Body Harvest” will not leave my head.

Here’s a video:

I will eventually get around to actually reviewing the album, in case anyone other than me cares.

I’ve also been listening to the new Today Is the Day album (Animal Mother) quite a bit.  I’m relatively new to this band, and have only heard three albums now, but I can confidently say that Animal Mother is a beautiful and brilliant noisy headfuck of an album, and will likely be my second-favorite album from 2014.

Here’s a video (don’t watch/listen this too close to bed time):

Also the new(est) Coffinworm (IV.I.VIII) is still jangling up my nerves in the best possible way.

Listen:

Aside from that, I’ve been listening to Agnostic Front a bit these days, for the first time in a while.  I especially like Liberty and Justice For… (1987).

This album is short enough to listen to in its entirety in one sitting:

In other news, I’m sad that baseball season and Halloween are over.

darryl strawberry crying

More things will come eventually, but that’s all for today.  Stay heavy, brothers and sisters.

Tell Me What You Think:

