Welcome! Bienvenido! Willkommen! Bienvenue! Shalom! Etcetera!

DIGITAL CAMERA

Howdy!  And welcome to my new metal blog, where I will discuss heavy metal in all of its glorious forms (and in some of its shitty forms).  I hope you’ll bear with me as I figure out how to use this WordPress business.  To start off, a little bit about me…

 I grew up in a tiny town in southern Indiana.  My exposure to music was pretty much just early 1980s country music radio.  My journey as a Metalhead began at the tender age of nine, when my brother inadvertently got me into Metallica.  Within a couple of years, I was constantly in his room playing and looking at his cassette tapes. Other early favorites included Iron Maiden (which remains my favorite band to this day), Anthrax, Testament, Sacred Reich, Megadeth, Exodus, Nuclear Assault, Overkill, and Death Angel.  I eventually stopped being scared of Slayer, King Diamond, and S.O.D. (I didn’t understand that they were a joke), and from there, the sky was the limit.

 I watched the early days of death metal, grindcore, and black metal with a curious interest, through the pages of the late, great Metal Maniacs, eventually getting into the likes of Napalm Death, Brutal Truth, (early) Carcass, Cannibal Corpse, Morbid Angel, Death, et al (I’m only recently starting to get into some black metal).  In the early 90s, bands like Alice in Chains and Helmet made me understand that music could be heavy without necessarily being metal, and in the late 90s, I got into punk and hardcore, but through it all, I never stopped listening to and loving heavy metal.  I worked in a music store when “nü metal” was at its peak, and while I appreciate the fact that those bands got a lot of people into metal, I still don’t get that genre as a whole.

 Metal isn’t the only music I listen to, but it is what I listen to most often, and what I love the most.  Sometimes I write about the other stuff, too, and my friend Travis and I have a blog where that happens.  I’ve posted up some metal-related things there over the past couple of years, and I’ll likely be putting them here, too, as a way to get the ball rolling.  Join me if you’d like, but be prepared – things are gonna get heavy around here.

Tell Me What You Think:

